Thursday, April 9, 2009

THIEVES i say, THIEVES

I don't have any respect for thieves of any kind. Now since the beginning of my driving era, I've NEVER had the inconvenience of having my car broken into. Well...today it happened.

So I start my morning off as usual; hear my alarm, hit the snooze, hit it again in five, then another five, then stumble to take a shower, eat some cereal, and stroll down stairs to the parking garage.

I get inside my jeep and start the ignition and do the usual, which is to adjust the music volume to a much lower "morning" volume than my cranked up "coming home from the bar" volume from the night before, and as I wait for the engine to warm up I notice that a couple of my CD cases are out and scattered on top of the passenger seat. So think to myself "hm, my mom must have used my jeep earlier" and thought nothing of it. Then I start thinking, why the heck would she use my jeep and why would she randomly bust out all my CD cases and make a mess of my jeep? So I continue to get adjusted and something catches my eye in my rear view mirror. I shoot it a double take. Could this REALLY be happening to me? I turn around and the back passenger window is completely shattered and its remains are spread out on the backseat like a blanket of flippin' black diamonds. OH...MY...GOSH I think to myself. I immediately scan my jeep and quickly discover that I have become a victim of a car break-in robbery...

So the only thing this bastard thief took was my tomtom (portable GPS) and my blue tooth. I think the real loss here was my broken window and the time he took away from ACEing my stats exam this morning. Oh i forgot to mention, two other cars INSIDE our parking garage and another outside across the street shared a similar fate. Yea man what a morning.

Amidst the irritation and resentment I was feeling this morning, one thing did however helped me regain my composure. I didn't mention it before but I was actually getting ready to drive to school to take my stats exam. Or did I mention it? Whatever...Since I had to wait for the police to arrive, there was no way I was going to make it on time and I wasn't about to drive my jeep in that condition. (with glass everywhere). I called my professor and told him my situation and he said as long as I got to class during the second half, I should be able to take the exam. So I texted my friend, Catherine (who was on her day off!) and asked her for a ride. Ok mind you, I've only known this girl for a couple months now but today was a true testament of how awesome she really is. She picked me up, still in pajamas and no make-up (she was still beautiful of course) and drove my temporarily car-less butt to school. I don't know, I live for little things like that. Because of her, I was able to make it on time for the exam. THANKS CAT! I owe you one. Oh yea and ERAY took me home after class and to the glass shop. You guys rock. I have great friends...

Don't worry guys (well...if anyone was worrying hahha) Patty (my jeep) is alright. My mom dropped it off at the window repair shop and I picked it up this afternoon. I really wish I video-blogged this. It would've been so much more exciting...